Skip to content

Wagering practice – Not a great first impression

October 17, 2013

Kara Spak is our third and final focus of this week’s Battle of the Decades Fan Voting crew. (The other two were college players and I’d rather not get into tournament play quite yet.)

This is from her very first game. Some of you will recognize her mistake instantly. What is it, and what should each player have done?

Final Jeopardy! wagering practice 20131017 Slide1

Click here for the answer!

(Thanks to the J! Archive)


Answers to Wednesday’s scenario:

(click to view as a slideshow)

Return to top

3 Comments
  1. Tom Nissley permalink

    Hi Keith–Thanks for the always thoughtful analysis. For what it’s worth, in this game I not only liked that category, I loved it. I’m not sure of a category, besides 70s Baseball or Watergate, that I’d feel more confident about, so I’d still go big in this game. Now my last game, when I again went almost all in from second in a vague category: that was a mistake! But I was tired.

    • Hi, Tom! Thanks for stopping by, and for commenting. I gotta say your QF wager was one of the most brilliant I’ve ever seen.

      The three FJs I missed were in my two favorite categories: geography and history. As a result, I’m wary of overbetting even in a wheelhouse area – hell, even Ken Jennings missed a Final in “Comic Books”.

      Just playing one game is pretty exhausting, so I can only imagine the fatigue that comes with the fifth game of the day.

      Best of luck in the Fan Voting!

      Keith

  2. Tom Nissley permalink

    Yeah, after that bet I do remember seeing an Ian Fleming question I didn’t know and thinking, “Oh, that’s 20th Century Novels too.” But I’d do it again, partly out of sheer pride and fun. And thanks about the voting. Seems like an uphill battle, but we’ll see…

Share your thoughts!

